Hero Hero

The Millie Award



The Mildred C. Hanson "Millie" Award

The "Millie Award" is awarded to female SIORs with only the most distinguished careers reflecting outstanding SIOR service, leadership, character, and sales production.

The first “Millie” Award was awarded posthumously to Mildred C. (Millie) Hanson, SIOR, herself, in memoriam, in honor of her many extraordinary achievements as a pioneer for women in commercial real estate.

Millie was a specialist in office and industrial sales and leasing and was one of the first women to earn the SIOR designation.

Millie served as president of both the SIOR New Jersey Chapter and the Industrial and Office Brokers Association of the New York Metropolitan Area. She was named the Top Sales Associate of 2005 and 2006 for NAI James Hanson Real Estate, Hackensack, New Jersey. During her 34-year career, she brokered deals valued at more than $800 million.

Criteria for Award

Factors that may be considered in granting this award include, but are not limited to, top women in leadership who have consistently demonstrated integrity, a clear dedication to the principles of SIOR, active participation at SIOR events at all levels, and a true commitment to advancing women in commercial real estate.

Nomination Process

Nominations for recipients will be sought with a nomination form sent to the general membership, however, the award will only be given when it is deemed meritorious. The award will be presented at an SIOR Conference. Nominations will be vetted by the CEO and senior level staff. Final selection of a recipient rests solely with the Women’s Leadership Group members.

Nominees are not notified upon submission of an application.

The name of the recipient will be announced in advance via SIOR communications.

Nominations are closed for this year, but remember to submit yours when they open again next Summer.

The Millie Award Recipients

2023      Jill Rasmussen, SIOR

2017       Lynn Reich, SIOR, CCIM

2012       Lynn B. Schenck, SIOR

2011       Helen Brooks, SIOR

2010       Evelyne B. Andretta, SIOR

2009       Mildred C. Hanson, SIOR